No Siri? No problem! Dragon Go! Review   2 comments

I have an iPhone 4 and did not upgrade to the iPhone 4S with Siri because I was hoping that the new iPad would come with the personal assistant.  Unfortunately, Apple chose not to install Siri on its latest version of the iPad, perhaps to force others like me to go ahead and upgrade our iPhones if we want to get Siri.  In any case, since the iPhone 5 is rumored to come out in the Fall, I now plan to wait until then to upgrade my iPhone.  In the meantime, I started researching what alternatives there were to Siri that I could use on my iPhone 4, and I came across Dragon Go!

Dragon Go! is a free app that is developed by Nuance Communications.  There are iOS and Android versions of the app.  To use Dragon Go! just tap the record button on the screen and ask away.  For example, you can ask it “What is the weather like today around here?” and it will connect you to Accuweather and will show you the weather in your area.  It will use you phone’s GPS to determine your location.  If you ask “What is the capital of Switzerland?” it will connect you to Ask.com and will give you the answer (Bern, in case you were wondering).  Once you get your answer, Dragon Go! allows you to share it on Facebook, Twitter, or by email.

Below is a list of some of the sites and services that Dragon Go! connects with.  You can see them on the Dragon Carousel, so you can also swipe directly to the site that you want to interact with.

1. Ask.com

2. Wolfram Alpha

3. Yahoo! Answers

4. Answers.com

5. YouTube

6. Twitter

7. Wikipedia

8. Google

9. Open Table

10. Yelp

11. Netflix

12. Fandango

13. IMDB

14. Hulu+

15. Live Nation

16. Milo

17. CNN

18. Spotify

19. Pandora

20. Amazon

Watch how it works in the video review below:

Posted April 1, 2012 by deboraplehn in Apps

Tagged with , , , ,

2 responses to “No Siri? No problem! Dragon Go! Review

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Deboraplehn,
    Thanks for your thoughts, When I ask anything Siri answers saying “I’m really sorry about this, but I can’t take any requests right now. Please try again in a little while”. I’ve done everything right in the settings and I don’t know what else to do. Any advice…. but it does work some times! and the it doesnt! i dont get it
    All the Best

  2. I think this is one of the such a lot significant information for me.
    And i am happy studying your article. But want to commentary on some
    normal things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is actually
    nice : D. Good task, cheers

Leave a Reply

